Camborne’s Community and Commerce Awards ceremony took place recently to honour those who have made an exceptional contribution to their local area. 

Launched in 2020 and organised jointly by BID Cornwall and Camborne Town Council, the awards provide an opportunity to recognise those individuals, groups and businesses who have made a significant difference to their community. 

A wide range of categories were available for nominees and the winners were announced at a special evening at Camborne RFC. 

“We had a record number of nominations, and the quality of entries was genuinely inspiring,” said BID Camborne manager Anna Pascoe who co-presented the evening with Camborne Town Council’s Alicia Jouvenaar. 

“Camborne is rightly famous for its strong sense of community and that was certainly apparent in the support and enthusiasm being shown.” 

The list of winners was as follows: 

Best Employer: 1st - Sam Bowen

2nd - Kathy Penaluna

Joint 3rd - Sally Pyner and Michelle Walker


Best Customer Focus: 1st - White Hart

Joint 2nd - Scallywags, Tyacks and Delight 2 Bite


Best Employee/Staff Member: 1st: Amanda Nicholls, Camborne Back Clinic

Joint 2nd: Dawn Frisby – Kehelland Trust / Akira-Mina Marshal and Liz Mathers - Kath’s Plaice


Best Local Business: 1st - Jojangles

2nd - Under the Collar

3rd - Tyacks


Camborne Cares: 1st - Tyacks

Joint 2nd - Kehelland Trust, Paul White, Delight 2 Bite


Product or Service of the Year: 1st - Under the Collar

Joint 2nd - Scallywags, Rainbow Fun, White Hart


Group of the Year: 1st - Camborne Community Larder

2nd - Hygge and Hope

Joint 3rd - Camborne Children’s Clothes Bank and Camborne Air Cadets


Volunteer of the Year: 1st - Sam Cairns

2nd - Hayley Gilbert

Joint 3rd - Dean Pascoe and Sarah Hall


Sports Contribution: Joint 1st - Camborne RFC and Carn Brea Judo Club


Arts Contribution: 1st - Camborne Music Festival

Joint 2nd - Zena Clemens-Tresidder, Lola Gerrans, Camborne Library


Mayor’s Cadet: Tiffany Davis

Mayor's Award: Kehelland Trust

Sid Godolphin Award: Lily Mason

Young Achiever Awards (sponsored by Camborne and Redruth Lions): Peyton Jackson and Ruby Robinson