The Cornwall councillors for Pentewan Valley Parish Council have welcomed a decision to keep the parish as it is, after Cornwall Council voted not to change any boundaries.

This followed previous proposals dating back to 2019 which could have seen land from the parish moved into St Austell Town Council jurisdiction.

Cllr James Mustoe and Cllr Michael Bunney share Pentewan Valley parish between their Cornwall Council divisions, and have been working with Pentewan Valley Parish Council to make sure its voice has been heard throughout this process.

Cllr Mustoe, representative for Mevagissey and St Austell Bay, said: “I am pleased to see the outcome of the debate, which has been a long time coming, and that Cornwall Council voted to keep Pentewan Valley parish whole.

“I have supported this course of action since the boundary review process started in the last council, and this outcome will allow the parish council some certainty going forward that they will have the resources they need to deliver services for local residents.”

Cllr Bunney, representative for St Mewan and Grampound, said: “I am delighted Cornwall Council agreed to protect Pentewan Valley parish and keep the parish whole.

“I spoke at the committee that discussed this and they supported the no change option by a large majority.

“It is so important to protect rural parishes, especially as they cover large areas, with limited resources and all parish councillors are volunteers.

“Our rural communities have strong senses of identity and I am pleased Pentewan Valley parish has been protected.

“I am especially pleased, as I will be able to continue representing the people of Trewhiddle.”

Cllr Mike Ward, chairman of Pentewan Valley Parish Council, said: “I am grateful for the support of our Cornwall councillors in arguing the case.

“We had concerns about how the process was initially managed.

“We are content with the outcome and look forward to delivering good services to the new residents of Higher Trewhiddle for the lowest possible council tax.”